We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.
  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    Includes unlimited streaming of Shushupe via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 2 days

      $9.09 USD or more 


  • Streaming + Download

    Purchasable with gift card




PLEASE NOTE: Contrary to what Bandcamp states on the release pages, the purchase of the CDs do NOT come with downloads of the album. There are only excerpts. Apologies for false advertising that apparently cannot be removed from the pages.


Shushupe presents field recordings by Ralph Koper primarily pertaining to an ayahuasca ceremony which took place on February 8th, 2006 in Iquitos, Peru conducted by Norma Aguila Panduro Navarro (1944 - 2007) who was one of the very few female ayahuasca shamans in the world. The entheogenic brew known as ayahuasca (or yage) is made from the snake-like ayahuasca vine and the chacruna leaf. The brew is used as a traditional spiritual medicine in ceremonies among the Indigenous peoples of Amazonian Peru, many of whom say that they received the instructions of its use directly from the plants or plant spirits.

Shushupe is a Peruvian word for the bushmaster snake frequently encountered as an anthropomorphized guide during ayahuasca-induced visions and experiences into parallel realities that often take place during the ayahuasca ceremonies. Also, the spirit of Ayahuasca is often seen as a snake during visions.

This release mostly focuses on Norma Panduro's ceremonial music and the sounds of the surrounding jungle. Norma's apprentice at the time, Paula Liebe joined with the singing of one or two ceremonial icaros.

More about Norma Panduro can be found in the liner notes of the release. Alas, there no longer appears to be much info about her on the internet like there once was.

Ralph Koper is a field recording artist from The Hague, Netherlands. His main interest is capturing the sonic / energetic atmospheres of ecstasy of various cultures and nature. “I love it when elements, animals and sometimes people come together and celebrate. The interactions in sound are unintentional magical music.” Apart from and/OAR, Ralph has also had his work published or made available by 3Leaves, A Closer Listen and Sublunar Society.

Track List:

01. Forest Secrets (with frogs and owls)
02. Mapacho
03. Prayer
04. Whistling And Chakapa
05. Icaro 1 (with chakapa and whistling)
06. Icaro 2 (with tree frogs and chakapa)
07. Icaro 3 (with mosquitos and chakapa)
08. Icaro 4 (with rain, chakapa and rain stick)
09. Icaro 5 (with chakapa and rain stick)
10. Birds
11. Icaro 6 (with whistling and chakapa
12. Icaro 7 (with whistling)
13. Icaro 8 (with rattle, whistling and insects)
14. Whistling And Drum
15. Icaro 9 (with Paula)
16. Whistling And Rattle
17. Gracias
18. Forest Tale


released January 1, 2016


all rights reserved



and/OAR Seattle, Washington

Since 2001 and/OAR has been a publisher and internet mail order shop specializing in environmental sound and various forms of avant-garde sound art.

Be sure to also check out "and/camp" pages for either/OAR and mOAR.



PLEASE NOTE: Thanks for your interest, but a/O is not currently accepting demos from artists.
... more

contact / help

Contact and/OAR

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Shushupe, you may also like: